Let Them Eat Kale

Because Cake Is Sooo 1789

Recipe Rewind: Wild Blueberry Lemon Muffins (Vegan, Gluten-Free)

Hello again. How’s your weekend been?

 

Mine has been absolutely relaxing. I really have done much other than workout, read, and cook, but that is exactly what I need.

Speaking of which, I had quite a productive day at the gym today. I did more than a half marathon (>13.1 miles) of intervals on the elliptical, as well as the Mali Booty Workout from Tone It Up to go towards my #100byVday log and Love Your Body Challenge. I was going to stop at just the cardio (since clearly that was quite a bit!), but I convinced myself to do my strength training, too. Every lit bit counts, and I’m really starting to see improvements!

Working on my game face while stretching

Working on my game face while stretching

*Side Note: If you’re interested in following my journey and seeing some yummy eats, please follow me on Instagram. My username is @kabochavore.*

 

As for reading, I have been completely enamored with How to Bake a Perfect Life by Barbara O’Neil. I found it through Jenna’s blog, Eat Live Run, a few days ago and have already read it cover to cover (figuratively speaking). Reading on my iPad is a completely different experience, one which has revived my love for reading. I already have two books rented from an eLibrary, so I have a feeling this reading bug is going to stick.

 

And finally, for cooking, I’ve been mostly keeping it simple, with salads and stir-frys abounding. My roommates (aka taste-testers and dessert connoisseurs) are still at home for winter break, so my baking has been put mostly on hold until next week when they return. That hasn’t stopped me from dreaming about my love of baking, though. In fact, the other night when I was in the supermarket, I found the most beautiful blueberries on sale. They were plump and deliciously sweet, sending me straight to summertime with a single taste.

Although blueberries really aren’t in season in California, they’re probably even harder to find in colder areas. For that reason, the blueberries made me think of a recipe I created for my old blog. The recipe uses frozen wild blueberries, which are available all year round and a generally bursting with sweetness. Frozen wild blueberries can be found at Trader Joe’s, but regular frozen (or fresh, if you’re lucky) blueberries can be used just as easily in this recipe.

As I sit with my mug of hot chia tea by my computer, I write this recipe rewind post to hopefully give you a taste of summer, even in the depths of winter. Sweet blueberries and fresh lemon might be all it takes to make your day just a little bit brighter.

Wild Blueberry Lemon Muffins (Vegan, Gluten-Free)

Makes 8-10 Muffins 

Vegan, Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free, Low-Fat

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour (can use Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten-Free or your favorite GF mix)
  • 1-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of cinnamon (optional)
  •  3/4 cup wild blueberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1-1/2 tsp Ener-G Egg Replacer + 2 TBS warm water, whisked together
  • 1/3 cup Stevia in The Raw, NuNaturals Stevia Baking Blend, or organic sugar
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 2 TBS coconut oil or Earth Balance, melted
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp lemon extract (optional)
  • zest from 1 lemon + extra for garnish
  • oats (for garnish)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, salt, and wild blueberries.
  3. In another bowl, combine prepared egg replacer, sugar, almond milk, earth balance/coconut oil, vanilla extract, lemon extract, and lemon zest.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Mix until just combined.
  5. Evenly distribute batter into 6 muffin cups. (If you have a 12-cup muffin tin, you can easily double the batter or fill half of the tin with water instead of batter to ensure even baking.)
  6. Sprinkle oats and extra lemon zest on each muffin, if desired.
  7. Bake for 15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into each muffin comes out clean.
  8. Cool on a wire-rack. Enjoy with hot tea/coffee in the winter or  freshly squeezed lemonade in the summer.
xox,
Mandie
One comment on “Recipe Rewind: Wild Blueberry Lemon Muffins (Vegan, Gluten-Free)

  1. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish
    January 6, 2013

    I just found you on Instagram! 🙂 Girl, talk about a crazy workout…you must have sweat an ocean. 😉 The blueberry muffins look fantastic, and I Iove that they’re GF. It may be 20 degrees outside, but that doesn’t mean we can’t fool ourselves into thinking it’s warmer by eating summer-like baked goods!

Leave a Reply

