Let Them Eat Kale

Because Cake Is Sooo 1789

All Hail Kale Salad (Copycat Recipe from The Veggie Grill)

Well, hello again! It’s been quite a few days, so I hope your week has been going well.

After I last posted, my roommates returned from winter break. While I do enjoy alone time, I’m so glad to have them back. They are extremely fun to be around, and I love all of our late-night conversations. Plus, they encourage my baking habit. I like baking, and they like eating. It’s a perfect relationship.

In less than a week, I’ve already made coconut macaroons and glazed vegan donuts, as requested. I definitely see more baking coming up soon, perhaps even after I finish this post. Hmm, what to make….?

photo-17
Since school started up again, my life has been busier than I ever thought possible. I finally confirmed my class and work schedule earlier this week. I’m taking 18 credits (the total maximum) and working 20+ hours a week at my internship. That means I have to get up at 7AM every morning and am not usually back home until 8PM. Basically if I want to stay sane, it’s going to take a lot of planning on my part. Luckily, I thrive on being busy; now that the initial stress of having no “white space” on my calender has worn off, I’m actually feeling completely energized and happy.

photo-20

However, in order to stay that way, I know I need to ensure I get adequate sleep, keep up my workout schedule, and eat well. Although eating healthy is never a problem for me (I do it naturally and much prefer it), I’m not always the best at planning ahead for meals. Since my new schedule lacks time to come back to my apartment to eat or even to stop somewhere for a snack, I know I need to meal plan and prepare on the weekends.

photo-18

Last weekend, I made a deliciously tangy kale salad that I enjoyed during the week. The salad was actually inspired by a famous dish at The Veggie Grill, a popular vegan restaurant in my new home of Los Angeles. Although I’ve never been to the restaurant (it’s hard to get off campus!), I’ve wanted to try it since seeing the restaurant’s recipe online. Since I have a habit of changing recipes to be healthier and suit my tastes, I took out the large amount of oil and amped up the sweet and tangy combo. For me, that meant using mango instead of papaya, increasing the amount of fresh ginger root, and adding apple cider vinegar and coconut flour for flair. For a final hint of sweetness, I used a bit of local, raw honey that I bought the other day. You would be surprised how hard it was to find honey that was not only raw, but also produced in the LA area. It was totally worth it!

I hope you enjoy this fresh and easy salad as much as I do. It’s so refreshing!

photo-19

“All Hail Kale Salad” Copycat Recipe with Mango Ginger Dressing and Coconut

Vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, refined sugar-free (can use stevia for completely sugar-free), paleo

  • 1 large bunch of kale
  • 1 mango, diced (about 1/2 cup — can use frozen + thawed) 
  • 3 TBS fresh lime juice
  • 2 TBS apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 ounce peeled fresh ginger root (or substitute ginger powder, to taste)
  • 1.5 TBS honey (or maple syrup for vegans), or more to taste
  • 1 TBS coconut flour (coconut cream, full-fat coconut milk, or coconut butter might also work)
  • 1/4 cup water, or more to thin
  • dash of salt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • chopped mango, for topping (optional)
  1. Prepare kale by cutting away the rough stem and tearing the leaves into small pieces. Wash and dry well. 
  2. To make dressing: combine chopped mango, lime juice, apple cider vinegar, ginger root, honey, coconut flour, water, and salt in a high-speed blender. (I use my Vita-Mix, but you can use a normal blender if you chop everything really well or use ground ginger instead of fresh.) Adjust sweetness to taste by adding more honey or a few drops of liquid stevia, if desired. Add more water if you prefer a thinner dressing.
  3. Pour desired amount of dressing over kale leaves. Massage dressing into kale with your hands to soften the leaves.
  4. Top salad with shredded coconut, more mango, and any other salad fixings (I like the crunch of carrots and bell peppers). A source of vegetarian/vegan protein, such as chickpeas, tofu, or tempeh, would also be a lovely addition.

xox,

Mandie

2 comments on “All Hail Kale Salad (Copycat Recipe from The Veggie Grill)

  1. Sam @ Better With Sprinkles
    January 20, 2013

    I made macaroons for the first time over Christmas. I’ll definitely have to be repeating it often – they’re so good!

  2. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish
    January 21, 2013

    I love the idea of preparing a large kale salad to eat throughout the week! This recipe looks like one I’d really enjoy, as it contains coconut, mango and ginger–three of my favorite tropical ingredients. Yum! I bet it would be great with grilled chicken, tofu or salmon as well!

    It sounds like you have a *crazy* schedule this semester! I admire your ability to juggle your obligations so well! xoxo ❤

Leave a Reply

