Let Them Eat Kale

Because Cake Is Sooo 1789

June Goals

Well hello there! It’s been quite a while, hasn’t it? Rather than recap several months of shananigans, let’s look towards the future. School’s out for summer (well, sort of; I’m still taking one summer course for fun), and it’s time to take advantage of my new-found free-time to do some spring summer cleaning. For me, that means really taking stock of how far I’ve come and deciding where I want to be in the future. For June, here are the main things I would like to work on:

Fitness:

Focus on strength. During the school year, I admit I became quite a cardio junkie in order to burn off stress. Although it was fun for the time being, I know that strength training will be much more beneficial in the long run.
How I’m going to accomplish it: in addition to my morning cardio (which I plan to reduce anyway), do some sort of strength workout at least 5 times a week (probably in the evening). I’ll be looking to Chalene Johnson in Turbo Fire, the Tone It Up trainers, Blogilates, and the Fitnessista for inspiration. (Check out my Health & Fitness Pinterest board here.)

Return to my love of yoga. Before I moved to California, I practiced yoga every day without fail and even trained to become a registered yoga teacher. My practice fell to the wayside when I was short on time, but now I’m committed to getting it back.
How I’m going to accomplish it: roll out my matt at least 2 times a week for at least 30 minutes. There are some great yoga videos on YouTube, as well as some free podcasts on iTunes (Dave Farmer is my fav!).

***

Food:

Experiment more with seafood. After 5 or so years of being fully vegan, I recently returned to eating fish again. Although wild-caught salmon is definitely my fish of choice, I want to try different (sustainable) options and prepartions.
How I’m going to accomplish it: try at least 1 new seafood preparation a week. I’m in a “season and bake” rut, so I’ll search Pinterest and Foodgawker for new ideas and recipes.

Bake my heart out. Baking has always been my true passion; even my personal essay for college applications was about baking! Since my roommates love sweets, I’m going to take advantage of my free time to experiment in the kitchen and use them as taste-testers.
How I’m going to accomplish it: bake something new off my Pinterest “Baking Inspiration” board at lest once a week. In addition, I plan to re-make my tride-and-true favorites so I can finally post the recipes here on the blog for all of you to enjoy.

***

Fun:

Read more. Sometimes I forget how much I love reading, and summer is the perfect time to rekindle the flame. I’ve almost finished The Violets of March by Sarah Jio and can’t wait to absorb myself in another great read.
How I’m going to accomplish it: ask my friends for book recommendations and read anything I can get my hands on. I’m guilty of getting bored and abandoning books simply because I don’t know if they’re worth reading. However, I trust my friends and know I’ll actually stick with reading if I know the book is worth it. In addition, I will try to read the newspaper (online) or research topics that interest me just to keep my brain engaged. I’m always learning!

Reconnect with friends. Since I finally be visiting my hometown at the end of the month, I’d love to reconnect with some of my high school friends and make plans to hang out when I’m in town. I also want to take advantage of my friends that live in or are staying in LA this summer by doing things with them in the evenings and on weekends.
How I’m going to accomplish it: message my high school friends on Facebook and arrange FaceTime dates; find out who’s around LA and make plans. Easy peasy!

***

What are your June goals?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 31, 2013 by in Fitness, Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
