Let Them Eat Kale

Because Cake Is Sooo 1789

Moroccan Salmon Burgers {gluten-free, grain-free, paleo}

In honor of keeping up with my June goals, I came up with a new salmon burger recipe inspired by a post I saw on Pinterest for baked moroccan salmon.

I’ll be honest: When I first started eating fish again (after being vegan for about 5 years), I only ate wild-caught salmon. Yes, I was definitely *that* person incessantly questioning the poor fish-monger at Whole Foods about every aspect of the fish that I could possibly think of.

Origin. Freshness. Sustainability.

By the end of the conversation, I could practically recount my specific fish’s whole genealogy.

Of course, this came about because I wanted to make a completely conscious decision about what I was eating. However, I soon learned that didn’t mean I had to go crazy about it.

As a college student, I’ve learned the importance of flexibility (something that was a very difficult for me and is still a work in progress). I don’t have regular access to fresh, wild-caught salmon from my trusted source (Whole Foods, of course) and, quite honestly, it’s just not always practical for my budget (gotta save for that cute apartment + car after college!).

So, I’ve found other ways to get my sustainable salmon. Many grocery stores sell high-quality wild-caught salmon in cans, which is an easy and affordable staple I now keep in my pantry. I may not be able to have perfectly grilled fresh salmon every night, but I know that delicious salmon burgers are only a few minutes away as a quick snack or meal.

Fast. Easy. Delicious. And, of course, sustainable.

Now that’s what I like to hear.

moroccan salmon burger

Moroccan Salmon Burgers

Makes 2 burgers

  • 1 6-oz can wild-caught salmon (boneless & skinless*), drained
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced finely
  • 1 TBS coconut flour
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 tsp flax meal (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8-1/4 tsp coriander
  • salt & pepper, as desired
  • coconut oil for pan
  1. Heat a skillet on the stove to medium heat.
  2. In a bowl, mash salmon with a fork.
  3. Add all other reamining ingredients and combine well.
  4. Form into two equally-sized balls and press down to form patties.
  5. Melt a little bit of coconut oil to coat the pan and cook the patties. They should take about 3 minutes on each side. Alternatively, you can cook them in a 375*F oven until browned on one side; flip, then cook until browned on the other side.
Leave a Reply

